Mind the Gap


Photo: garylellis.org

Photo: garylellis.org

Except for the initial butterflies fluttering in the stomach the time I got my first mobile phone, I have always been a cell phone hater. Except for the year I was drowned in chatting on Orkut and yahoo messenger, I have been a perennial social networking critic. It’s such a waste of time and energy. Hackneyed words!

I realized that I had strangled enough months in being socially active over the net and felt it had become boring to talk about nothing with the same people at college and then in chat windows. The entire thing appeared pathetic now. I was almost done with my hunger for networking when Facebook saw popularity and I had to create an account because Orkut became a no-man’s-land after losing preponderance; I began forgetting passwords because of long gaps in logging into accounts.

I remember how I would curse mobile phones when a guest would come home and my dad and the guest would be busy talking on their phones, ignoring each others’ presence naïvely.

We also indulged ourselves in the trend of using sentences with few words and words with fewer letters. Okay became professional, okie or okies was chosen for sweet friends, OK for quickness and if you didn’t really care, it had to be just a ‘K’. ‘K’ also read rude to many, including me. When you replaced take care by ‘tc’ it meant you don’t care indeed. Can I say that words not only lost letters but also their meanings?

Did it hurt relationships and privacy? Maybe yes. For many of us it did. It did bestow upon you the opportunity for connecting to those long-lost friends; it did take you away from those who were near you. It did make some of you famous by offering an open platform; it did destroy many other innocent bubbles when opened too much. It did make life lighter and heavier. You think technology spoils relations? My response to the poll was – my phone is in my pocket when I’m with humans. My mom was brought up in her aunt’s lap. It’s been years we met her. My mom adores her for the woman she is and for the mother she found in her. For what I know of my grandmother, she has had a challenging life. And the challenge continues to accompany her as her only friend. Neither could she fight it out nor did she cry. In the past 10 years, every time we tried to meet her we failed for reasons worthy of obscurity. The day we had a video chat with her made a distance of thousands of miles feel like a foot away and the time of a decade just milliseconds of lag. I realized that technology is worth a huge hug. It surely brought humans closer. What could have made life of a lonely old woman easier than seeing her beloved kid smiling at her with watery-eyes? She must be about 70 now. And frankly, with a heavy heart, I say that she has seen enough of life.What looked difficult to achieve for years was made possible by a simple chip in a phone.

Do you remember the first thing that came to your mind when you were locked in your home? You used your phone to usher help. When you felt lonely and wanted to throw it out; when you were leaving and wanted to say a goodbye one more time; when your great grandpa was in pain and wanted to say ‘God bless’ one last time; when you came out that deadly cold examination hall and wanted to tell your friend how betraying the questions were; when you bought a new pair of shoes and wanted to tell how your bargaining skills have improved; when you sought an idea before dropping an application for that well deserved off from work; when you wanted to yell but only that person would care to hear you out; when you had no courage to talk and preferred to text; when you were in an emergency and needed to call the police or your family;  when you wanted to talk about nothing that can be classified a reason. I have abhorred technology (read phones) for its scope of being abused and misused just like I ignore good things about everything else and focus on the crumminesses. I hope it’s not the case with you.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. parmar.amit
    May 26, 2013 @ 13:40:43

    While I do love my phone, I absolutely detest the thing that comes along with it – social networks. I still don’t understand why people have to put emphasis on judging someone from his or her “history” on facebook?
    Social networks like FB are nothing but a ground for hypocrisy. There is a constant pressure to project an image of your physical self onto the digital world creating a digital-self. But I hardly see the 100% transition. There are people who will “Like” an image that shows the desperate need to feed hungry children in another part of the world yet when it comes to donating school related items for the poor students, one gets to hear – “I am sure many others will donate…so I dont have to”. After such comments your mind is in a constant struggle to understand that “Like” – did he like that image to support the cause or he liked it because he liked the image that showed hungry kids.

    Reply

    • Himani Gupta
      May 26, 2013 @ 14:06:46

      You know you have my thought on this. I abhor social networking, its hypocrisy, and those attention hungry Facebook profiles! There’s a lack of honest opinion.
      Somewhere in the heart I do believe that they liked the ‘image’ that showed hungry kids. They found more of creativity than gravity in those pictures.

      Reply

  2. Kapil Gosain
    May 28, 2013 @ 20:53:55

    Sorry but a Thumbs Down to this post.
    The title was not related to content and the content was confusing. There was no flow of thoughts.

    Reply

  3. Nirbhaya's India
    Jul 07, 2013 @ 21:24:07

    But I agree with you. You’ve said two opposite things in a sense but both are true, in my mind too.

    Reply

Leave your thoughts here!

