We had been


I had been
Of course, you had been, too
I, the flawed
You, the torch
I drank
From the cup
Of your hands
Slowly first
Quickly later
Never did it seem
To get over
Never did I seem
To get enough
You stood by
Like a thunder
Protecting me from my
Gargantuan blunders

As I stood
I, the flawed
As you stood
You, the torch
We walked
I, needing
You, leading
I am asking
I am angry
Slow down
You torch!
You blaze
Your bubbly laugh
At me
Leaving you tears
Your eyes closed
Your eyes sprinkling
Your big eyes

As I stood
I, the flawed
As you stood
You, the torch
Making faces
Finishing food
Guiding on what to ask
On the list
Is watching weight
Always on the list
Mirrored ceiling
Frustrated you
I, making fun
You, yelling hard
Suppressing laughter
That laughter
That teary laughter

As I stood
I, the flawed
As you stood
You, the torch
You told me
You found your light
You went on
With the light
I found, too
A companion
In the dark
Ever since
In the dark
In the hope
Of torch
Don’t you know
I don’t mind
The union of
Torch and light
And the flawed behind

Leave your thoughts here!

