Road of tar


Because I wanted to pass that moment,

and I believed that it would take only a while,

I kept walking. I kept walking as a blind man would. I kept walking as a deaf man would.

And what do I see? Everyone behind me was shouting. They were shouting to save me. 

I had come out too far. I had walked on a hot road of tar. Almost burning tar on which tender, fragile flowers wept. 

Now that I was here, they began clapping and cheering. Were they the same people?

I was crying. I wanted to stand there for as long as they let me. I wanted to walk on tar again.

Who does not want to be protected? 

And I knew even if that passed, there was more to pass.

Leave your thoughts here!

