Reading Simone de Beauvoir


I am currently reading The second sex, the book. It’s also known as the feminist’s bible, the encyclopaedia of feminism, the women, their becoming of women. 

Here’s a picture of Simone de Beauvoir with Jean-Paul Sartre.

Sartre once said to Beauvoir that she had the intelligence of a man, which Beauvoir received as a compliment until she realised what it implied.

She says, it implied that the man is a human being and the woman is a female.

In her book, The second sex, she states that one is not born a woman, but one becomes a woman. She accuses the civilization for it. 

I have been trying get hold of her work for a while but too much of good literature (and also  non-literary stuff) gets in my way. As I finally lay my hands on this masterpiece, I promised to share what I feel would not be worth resisting to. 

So what’s my next obsession? Beauvoir’s work.

#SimonedeBeauvoir

#Thesecondsex

Leave your thoughts here!

